Don’t Let the Perfect Be the Enemy of the Good

ChiveBlossomI’ve wanted to break my camera out for forever. Wanted and been afraid.

For a while I was convinced there was something wrong with me, and I simply couldn’t use it. For a while after that, I was convinced there was something wrong with it. It just wouldn’t take photos. Like, it had a lens and a shutter and a button to push for the actual picture-taking process, but for some reason I’d never manage to make it work. Then I thought it was actually, actually broken. So I let it sit on a shelf.

Guess what? Just took it to get repaired. There’s a hair on the lens I can pay $60 to have removed, but that’s it.

Hmm.

The real problem, it seems, is that I’m afraid of taking pictures. Because I’m not Ansel Adams. Silly, right? Only Ansel Adams was Ansel Adams … and by the way, he was really good friends with my great-grandfather. True story. More on my claims to fame later.

The point here is this: Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good. It’s one of my favorite sayings by Gretchen Rubin over at The Happiness Project. And she is so right. So I broke out the camera today. Took some winter shots. And I’m not sorry.

WinterPictures

BlueSpruce

2 thoughts on “Don’t Let the Perfect Be the Enemy of the Good

  1. Your shots look pretty good. I rarely take photos. I forget to and then later I’ll think “Wow, I should have taken some pictures”. Taking your own photos can make for a nice library of illustrations to use on your blog.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote
    An A to Z Co-host blog

  2. Merci beaucoup! And yes, I find that I don’t enjoy trying to find images from elsewhere, so since I’ve got the camera and there’s … mysteriously … nothing wrong with it, I may as well put it to good use!

Leave a Reply

