Letting Go Of Ego: A Snowball Habit!

Giant_snowball_OxfordAs perhaps evidenced by the overly enthusiastic title of this post, I really love the idea of snowball habits.

It doesn’t take much to get a bad habit started, as we’ve all noticed: one day you innocently buy a milkshake on the way home from work, and suddenly milkshakes are just your on-the-way-home-from-work thang. Hence the snowball, as discussed in Organized Home’s article Habit: The Household Wonder Worker. The first step is like a teeny snowball at the top of a hill, but by the time it’s reached the bottom, it’s a force of nature. Whoops.

The good news? Good habits can start this way too. Just take that one small step, make yourself do it again, and before you know it, you’ve got yourself a good habit. Popularly cited examples are flossing, exercising, and avoiding sweets.

Which I find helpful, but somewhat mundane. For me, a lot of my bad habits revolve around allowing myself to feel bad, give up, think darkly, or just generally allow my emotions to overtake my belief in myself. A lot of this relates to work, and especially other people I have to work with.

Nothing new, you say, and you’re right: all of us feel, at some point or another, that someone is pooping on our dreams, or just straight up on us. But don’t let them! Most likely that’s just how they treat everyone, not just you. After all, assuming a personal persecution is a form of egoism, and we’re not egotistical, right? Right??!

… oh. Me too.

But that’s okay. We’ve all got an ego to protect. The point is, if we spend so much time protecting it, we’ll put more of our energy toward making sure we don’t get hurt, humiliated, shut down, refused … or any other emotional booboo. So this is my new snowball habit: reminding myself to let the ego go. If they don’t like it, that’s okay. If I don’t like it, that’s okay. As long as I’m working toward those dreams.

Leave a Reply

